Examine Regional Data by
Management Groups
Soil Texture
Rainfall Bands

The Southern Tasmanian NRM Region is home to over 500,000 people over 2.5 million hectares, including Hobart and its urban fringes in the municipalities of Brighton, Central Highlands, Clarence, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan Spring Bay, Glenorchy, Hobart, Huon Valley, Kingborough, Sorell, Southern Midlands and Tasman. Industries such as agriculture, fisheries, forestry and tourism all rely on the region?s natural resources for current and future success, and contribute strongly to the region?s economy and identity. Southern Tasmania features river systems and lakes in near pristine condition, rich flora and fauna, including many species endemic to Tasmania, a range of complex landscapes, internationally recognised natural icons and a long and intricate coastline looking out to countless offshore islands and stacks. It encompasses the World Heritage Areas of the South-West Wilderness and Macquarie Island and four internationally recognised Ramsar-listed wetlands.